Certified Crop Adviser Program

The Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) Program is one of the professional certification programs offered by the American Society of Agronomy (ASA). It is a voluntary program providing a base level of standard through testing, and raising that standard through continuing education. The program is administered within the State of Tennessee by the Tennessee Agricultural Production Association.

Each CCA has to pass two exams (international and local), supply two references, and submit credentials detailing their education and crop advising experience. They must also sign and adhere to a code of ethics.

The exams cover four major competency areas: nutrient management, soil and water management, integrated pest management and crop management. Continuing education must also fall into one of these four areas to be valid for CCA Continuing Education Units (CEUs).

To maintain the certification, the CCA must earn 40 hours of continuing education every two years. The program has averaged a 94 percent renewal rate.

Materials for instructors can be found here.

To locate a Certified Crop Advisor in your area, click here.

For More Information

Jaymie Seay
c/o Tennessee Farmers Cooperative
PO Box 3003
LaVergne, TN 37086
Phone: 615-793-8560, Fax: 615-793-8323, e-mail: Jaymie.seay@protritionfeed.com