The State Board of Education has the authority to adopt academic standards for each subject area in grades K–12. The state board adopted revised state math standards in February 2021. They will be implemented in classrooms during the 2023-24 school year.

Additionally, to support strong classroom instruction, the department has revised the instructional focus documents for mathematics to reflect the revision to the standards. These documents are written to provide a lens of clarity into effective mathematics instruction in TN classrooms by including:

  • aligned aspects of rigor (Conceptual Understanding, Procedural Skill and Fluency, and Application),
  • evidence of learning statements that connect learning outcomes and provide indication of grade-level expectations, and
  • instructional focus statements that provide guidance on Tier 1 instruction.

These documents were intentionally developed to complement the Math Implementation Framework and Tennessee Instructional Practice Guide (IPG). They are valuable tools for all district stakeholder groups.

Both the revised standards and the instructional focus documents can be found on Best for All Central.

The eight Standards for Mathematical Practice are an important component of the mathematics standards for each grade and course, K–12. The Standards for Mathematical Practice describe the varieties of expertise, habits of minds, and productive dispositions that educators seek to develop in all students.

  • Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them
  • Reason abstractly and quantitatively
  • Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others
  • Model with mathematics
  • Use appropriate tools strategically
  • Attend to precision
  • Look for and make use of structure
  • Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning

The four literacy standards for mathematical proficiency are also an integral component of the K–12 mathematics standards. Communication in mathematics employs literacy skills in reading, vocabulary, speaking and
listening, and writing. The following are the four literacy skills necessary for mathematical proficiency:

  • Use multiple reading strategies
  • Understand and use correct mathematical vocabulary  
  • Discuss and articulate mathematical ideas
  • Write mathematical arguments

Note: The State Board of Education sets the requirements for high school graduation (see the High School Policy 2.103). Per SBE Rule, students must achieve four high school level units of math in order to graduate with a high school diploma, including Algebra I, Algebra II, and Geometry (or the equivalent courses, Integrated Math I, II, and III) and one additional mathematics course beyond Algebra I. View a list of the courses required for high school graduation here.

AP, IB, and Cambridge

Please visit the associated websites in order to view standards: