Tennessee Historical Commission

Meeting Details: (Revised 05/18/2023)

June 16, 2023 - 9:00 AM CDT - In-Person Only

The Morton Museum of Collierville History
196 N. Main Street
Collierville, TN 38017

Supporting Documents

  • Agenda - Coming Soon
  • Public Comment Notice - Coming Soon

Board Characteristics

The Tennessee Historical Commission board is commissioned under T.C.A. 4-11-102. The statute authorizing this board expires June 30, 2025 and the one-year wind-down begins. 

The board is composed of twenty-nine members: 5 Ex Officio members plus 24 members appointed by the Governor for terms of five years.  Appointed membership is equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state.  Appointed members whose current terms have expired, serve until reappointed or replaced.

Members include:

Officers Term Expires  
Mrs. Derita Coleman Williams, Chair  06-30-2027  
Mrs. Doris McMillan, Vice-Chair 07-07-2025  
Dr. William E. Kennedy, Vice-Chair 09-30-2023  
Ex Officio Members   Representation
Mr. Alec Richardson   Governor's Representative
Mr. Gerald Parish   Comm. of Environment and Conservation Rep.
Mr. Phil Hodge   State Archaeologist
Dr. Caroll Van West   State Historian
Mr. James Ritter   State Librarian and Archivist
Members Term Expires Representation
Mrs. Loni Harris
West Tennessee
Dr. Keith Norman 09-30-2025 West Tennessee
Mrs. Beverly C. Robertson 09-30-2025 West Tennessee
Ms. Laura Todd 06-30-2026 West Tennessee
Mr. Brad Grantham 09-30-2027 West Tennessee
Mr. Don Roe 09-30-2022 West Tennessee
Mr. James Haywood 07-07-2025 West Tennessee
Mr. Reggie Mudd 06-30-2024 Middle Tennessee
Mr. Dan Pomeroy 09-30-2024 Middle Tennessee
Dr. Kent T. Dollar 09-30-2025 Middle Tennessee
Mr. Jeremy Harrell 09-30-2025 Middle Tennessee
Mr. Kem Hinton 10-15-2025 Middle Tennessee
Ms. Ann Toplovich 11-15-2025 Middle Tennessee
Mrs. Beth Campbell 06-30-2027 Middle Tennessee
Mr. Allen F. Carter 09-30-2026 East Tennessee
Mr. Sam D. Elliott 05-31-2025 East Tennessee
Mr. Hanes Torbett 11-15-2025 East Tennessee
Dr. William Lyons 02-28-2026 East Tennessee
Ms. Susan Williams 02-28-2026 East Tennessee
Mr. Ray Smith 10-31-2026 East Tennessee
Mr. Kelly Wolfe 02-11-2024 East Tennessee

Past Meetings

October 8, 2021

August 19, 2021

June 18, 2021

May 7, 2021

March 9, 2021

February 18, 2021

December 4, 2020 - Special Meeting

November 6, 2020 - Special Meeting

October 16, 2020

July 24, 2020 - Special Meeting

July 10, 2020

March 27, 2020

February 21, 2020

January 23, 2020 - Special Hearing

Special Meeting Held on March 13, 2019

This meeting was held for the consideration of the Denial of Petition for Reconsideration by Judge Hilliard in the matter of Forrest Descendants and Sons of Confederate Veterans, Docket No. 04.47-1509371. This meeting was held by teleconference.


To contact commission members, email Ask.THC@tn.gov
Linda Wynn
Board Contact
Patrick McIntyre
Executive Director
Tennessee Historical Commission
Dept. of Environment & Conservation

This Page Last Updated: May 19, 2023 at 8:15 AM