Ocoee River Recreation and Economic Development Fund Board

Meeting Details: (Revised 05/11/2023)

May 25, 2023 - 2:00 PM EDT
In-Person and Remote Access via MS Teams

Hiwassee/Ocoee Rivers State Park
404 Spring Creek Rd
Delano, TN 37325

Join this meeting via MS Teams

Participants may also join by video system

Supporting Document

2023 Meeting Date

March 1, 2023 - 12:00 PM CT (Emergency Meeting)
March 23, 2023 - 1:00 PM CT
May 25, 2023 - 2:00 PM EDT (RFP Subcommittee)

Board Characteristics

The Board consists of nine voting members with five members appointed by the governor, and six ex officio, nonvoting members. Appointed members shall serve four-year, renewable terms. Seven members of the board shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of conducting business.

Commissioned under Tenn. Code Ann.  §  11-8-104.

Members include:

  • The manager of the Hiwassee/Ocoee Scenic River State Park;
  • The comptroller of the treasury, or the designee;
  • The state treasurer, or the designee;
  • The Polk County mayor;
  • One person who represents economic development interests;
  • One person who represents private boater interest;
  • Three persons who are Ocoee River management zone commercial permit holders;
  • The Commissioners of Environment and Conservation, Tourism, Economic and Community Development, or their designees;
  • The Executive Director of the Wildlife Resources Agency, or designee;
  • A member from the House and Senate whose legislative district includes the majority of the Ocoee River management zone.
Member Term Expires Representation
Angelo Giansante Ex Officio Hiwassee/Ocoee State Park Manager
Macy Bower, Comptroller's Designee Ex Officio The Comptroller of the Treasury
Drew Freeman, Director of Treasury Outreach Ex Officio The State Treasurer
Mayor Robbie Hatcher Ex Officio The Polk County Mayor
Melissa Woody 6-30-2022 Economic Development Interests
Tim Henderson 6-30-2026 Private Boater Interests
Keith Jenkins 6-30-2024 Commercial Permit Holders
Lamar Davis 6-30-2025 Commercial Permit Holders
Ryan Cooke 6-30-2022 Commercial Permit Holders
Deputy Commissioner Greer Tidwell, Designee Ex Officio Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation
Assistant Commissioner Kevin Mahoney Ex Officio Tennessee Department of Tourism
Deputy Commissioner Brooxie Carlton Ex Officio Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
Assistant Director Chris Richardson Ex Officio Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
Representative Dan Howell Ex Officio House of Representatives
Senator Mike Bell Ex Officio Member of the Senate

Past Meetings

Shonquita M. Parrish
(615) 532-0752
Sara Page
ORRED Advisory Attorney

This Page Last Updated: May 11, 2023 at 12:41 PM