Skip to Main Content

THC Boards and Commissions

State Review Board

The board consists of twelve members appointed by the State Historic Preservation Officer. The Board meets three times a year to consider nominations from Tennessee to the National Register of Historic Places. The meetings typically take place in January, May, and September. Members must have demonstrated a competence, interest, or knowledge in historic preservation and a majority of the members shall be recognized professionals.

Tennessee Historical Commission

The Commission consists of twenty-nine members: 24 appointed by the Governor and 5 ex officio members. Ex officio members include the Governor, the State Historian, the State Archaeologist, the Commissioner of Environment and Conservation, the State Librarian and Archivist. The 24 members appointed by the Governor are equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state. Regular meetings of the Commission typically take place the third Friday of February, June, and October.

Tennessee Wars Commission

The Tennessee General Assembly enacted legislation in April 1994 creating the Tennessee Wars Commission, which is also the Tennessee Historical Commission. The duties of the Wars Commission include the coordination of planning, preservation, and promotion of structures, buildings, sites, and battlefields of Tennessee associated with the French and Indian War, American Revolutionary War, War of 1812, U.S.-Mexican War, and the War Between the States.