Columbia Environmental Field Office

1421 Hampshire Pike, Columbia, TN 38401 | Phone: (931) 380-3371 | FAX: (931) 380-3397

Counties Served

Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marshall, Maury, Moore, Perry, Wayne

Interested in TDEC News affecting the Columbia Region? 

If you are uncertain who to contact, please call our main line at (931) 380-3371 and the receptionist will direct your call.

External Affairs

The Office of External Affairs serves as TDEC’s primary point of contact for the general public and stakeholders in a respective region and serves as the public outreach arm for the Commissioner’s Office.

Regional Director:
Chuck Yoest
(931) 922-8121

Administrative Services

TDEC exists to enhance the quality of life for citizens of Tennessee and to be stewards of our natural environment.

The Administrative Team supports the TDEC mission by serving as agency customer service representatives and administratively supports each environmental division represented within the Columbia Field Office to fulfill the delivery of environmental services for the citizens of Tennessee.

The administrative staff are responsible for coordinating all Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), public records requests. TDEC has several public data viewers that may help narrow down your request.

If you are unable to locate the information you are looking for on one of the TDEC online data viewer databases, you may submit an information request for any division using the following link:

General queries and requests may be sent to:

Administrative Manager:
Jennifer Greer
(931) 800-9523

Air Pollution Control

The Division of Air Pollution Control’s mission is to maintain and improve air quality to protect the health and welfare of  Tennesseans through monitoring, regulatory activities, and education in a manner that promotes maximum employment and economic growth.

For burn permits please contact the Tennessee Department of Agriculture, visit their website at Burn Safe TN.

General APC questions and electronic reporting submittals may be sent to:

Bill McCabe
(615) 687-7046

Mineral & Geologic Resources

The Division of Mineral and Geologic Resources is responsible for ensuring the environmentally sound management, protection and documentation of the state’s mineral, land and energy resources for all Tennesseans and future generations. DMGR is the regulatory authority for Mining and Oil & Gas within the state. In addition, DMGR houses the Abandoned Mine Land Program and the Tennessee Geological Survey. 

View the Mineral & Geologic Resources Dataviewer

Abandoned Mine Lands/Land Reclamation:
Trevor Martin
(865) 207-8995

Geological Survey:
Peter Lemiszki
(865) 594-5596

Daniel Lawrence
(865) 803-1206

Oil & Gas:
George Stephens
(865) 221-3214

Solid (Trash) & Hazardous Wastes

The Division of Solid Waste Management protects, improves, and promotes health and environmental quality through the responsive, effective oversight of waste management activities and the beneficial use of recovered materials. The division has several programs that deal with different kinds of waste, from solid to hazardous and from recyclables to food.

  •  View the Solid Waste Management Database - Data Viewer Note: Internet Explorer is no longer supported for our Data Viewer applications. Please use one of the following browsers: Chrome, Fire Fox or Edge.

Steve Wintheiser

Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Facilities ( e.g. Gas Stations)

The Division of Underground Storage Tanks protects human health and the environment by preventing future petroleum underground storage tank releases and remediating existing petroleum underground storage tank contamination from regulated tanks. The division also monitors and requires that citizens who have stored petroleum in regulated underground storage tanks, or who bring a new underground storage tank into use, notify the division.

Dale Robinson
(931) 306-8712

Division of Water Resources

The Division of Water Resources manages, protects, and enhances the quality of the state’s water resources through voluntary, regulatory, and educational programs. The Division is divided into smaller sections by water resource topical area. If you need assistance, please call our main line phone number (931) 380-3371 and the receptionist will transfer you to the appropriate person.

Helpful Links: 

Sherry Glass
(931) 444-9187

This Page Last Updated: May 3, 2024 at 1:17 PM