Frequently Asked Questions

 Physician Consult Line:
Consult Hours:  Mondays to Fridays from 8.30am – 5pm (except on public/institutional holidays)
Enroll HERE
Contact us at
For Suicide Emergencies Dial 988

Enroll in TCAPES services using this link.

We encourage enrollment as individual providers, even if that provider is part of a practice.

ANY Primary Care Providers (PCPs), including physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants who care for pediatric patients (less than 21 years) and have their practice located in the state of Tennessee are eligible to enroll. The TCAPES consult line is a provider-to-provider consultation line. It is not for patients or parents. 

The TCAPES consult line is designed to be a resource for primary care professionals. Consulting with families is outside the scope of our services. Therefore, we will refer families back to their PCP for questions or concerns. 

The TCAPES training and consultation service is free for the providers and is available to all PCPs in Tennessee who care for youth (less than 21 years) with Mental Health Care needs. 

TCAPES is provided at no cost to providers, thanks to the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021, which resulted in expansion of the Pediatric Mental Health Care Access Program through the Health Resource and Services Administration (HRSA). 

Yes, CME credit will be offered through BeHiP trainings, online BeHiP modules and an ECHO Learning Collaborative.

No, once enrolled, you may call the consultation line regardless of your patient’s insurance.

No, the mental health provider will not take over the care of the patient but will provide information, guidance and ongoing consultation if needed. The PCP shall remain the primary provider in charge of patient care. If mental health needs of the patient are beyond the scope of the consultation line, a referral can be made to a local mental health provider. 

No, you do not need patient authorization or consent to call the TCAPES consult line. The patient is not billed for the call and so financial consent is not needed. Also, provider-provider consultation is covered within the boundaries of HIPAA (Health Insurance and Portability Accountability Act).

The consult line is open Mondays to Fridays from 8.30am – 5pm (except on public/institutional holidays).

Enrolled providers should first participate in training provided by TNAAP. The training supports the integration of mental health care into primary care, including when to call the consultation line. 

As a PCP enrolled in the program, you may call regarding any mental health question or concern pertaining to a pediatric patient. You may also call about general questions regarding the diagnosis and treatment of a specific disorder, use of a particular medication, use of mental screening tools or about questions pertaining to mental health resources within the area. 

If the pediatric patient is a registered patient in your practice and your practice is located within the state of Tennessee, you may call about this patient. 

You may call the TCAPES consult line even if you are not enrolled, but you will be encouraged to enroll when you call. Having data on the number of enrolled providers will help us maintain funding.