Driver License Knowledge Test Online

Teenagers between the ages of 15 to 17 seeking to obtain their driver's license who are required to take a written test can now take that test online under the proctor's supervision (parent/legal guardian) via Tennessee Proctor Identification (PID) App. Note that you must comply with the testing rules and follow the instructions listed on the web test portal.

What is the Tennessee Proctor Identification (PID) App?

The Tennessee Proctor Identification (PID) App allows eligible Tennesseans to securely proctor online knowledge tests by obtaining a highly secure personal identification via the Proctor Identification (PID) App.  Personal identification information must be registered by verifying themselves against their Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security (TDOSHS) record.

How to get a Tennessee Proctor Identification (PID) App

In the Apple/Google play store search engine, type Tennessee Proctor ID, look for the following PID App icon, and follow the steps to download/install the PID App.

Tennessee Proctor App

Note: The PID App requires an iPhone 6 (iOS 13.1) or a newer device for iPhone users.

Proctor App Setup

Note 1: The person that serves as the proctor (parent or legal guardian) must accompany the minor to the driver services center to be issued the learner permit.

Note 2: Click here to access the proctor (parent or legal guardian) instructions for the Online Knowledge Test.

Note 3: By taking the Online Knowledge Test, the minor understands that a retake of the test may be required by the department at one of the driver services centers.

Knowledge Test Rules and Eligibility

  • Applicant minimum age should be 15 years and should not exceed 17 years of age.
  • A Computer, Tablet, or Laptop is required to take the online knowledge test.
  • Parent/Legal Guardian can register/administer up to five applicants only.
  • Parent/Legal Guardian must complete mid-test authentication at the middle of the test time by scanning the QR code via the PID (Proctor Identification) App. Failure to do so will result in an automatic test failure. Proctor reauthentication is not required if the applicant completes (passes/fails) the test within 30 minutes.
  • The total time for the Class D (Operator) Test will be 60 minutes.
  • For the Class D (Operator) Test, there will be 30 questions.
  • The total time for the Class M (Motorcycle) Test will be 60 minutes.
  • For the Class M (Motorcycle) Test, there will be 30 questions.
  • Applicants are eligible to take Class M (Motorcycle) Test online after successfully completing Class D (Operator) Test.
  • Applicants must achieve a minimum score of 80% to pass the test.
  • Applicants who fail the Knowledge Test must wait twenty-four (24) hours to retest.
  • Applicants can take the test online up to two (2) times only.
  • The Class D (Operator) Test language options are English and Spanish.
  • The Class M (Motorcycle) Test language option is English only.
  • Network/Technical issue or loss of power exceeding 60 minutes will result in an automatic test failure. The parent/guardian must re-authenticate themselves by scanning the QR code via PID (Proctor Identification) App to resume the test within 60 minutes.

Note: Applicants must stay on the test window during the test. Any navigation away from the test window will result in an automatic test failure.

Click here to begin the Driver License Knowledge Test Online.