Frequently Asked Questions

Medical Case Management for Workers' Compensation in Tennessee
  • Case managers must be registered with the Tennessee Bureau of Workers' Compensation.
  • Case managers must complete 4 hours of continuing education each year.
  • Case managers must keep their certifications and licenses up-to-date with the Bureau.

1. Where are the rules posted? (Spanish)

2. Who is considered to be a case manager that has to comply with the rules?

Review the elements of case management (See rule 0800-02-07-04) If you are providing any of these services in the Tennessee Workers’ Compensation system, you are considered to be a case manager and are subject to these rules, whether your services are provided in the field or telephonically.

3. The effective date of the rules is August, 29, 2016. What does that mean?

  • While the effective date of the rules is August 29, 2016, the new certification, continuing educational units and fee requirements went into effect January 1, 2017.
  • The timeline for the two-year requirement of a registered Case Manager Assistant (CMA) to become certified in one of the categories under the definition of a Case Manager (CM) became effective January 1, 2017. 
    • Any active CMA registered with the state before January 1, 2017 will be required to become a CM no later than January 1, 2019. 
    • A CMA previously registered in Tennessee who is inactive as of January 1, 2017, will be required to become a CM within two years of verification of renewed active status. 
    • Any CMA that registers after January 1, 2017 will be required to be a CM within two years of the initial registration date (example: on or before March 1, 2020 for an initial CMA registration dated March 1, 2018).
  • Registration fees will be collected starting with initial registrations ($100) received on or after January 1, 2017. The renewal fee ($50) for these applicants will be required every two years thereafter with each renewal application.
  • The renewal fee ($50) for CMs and CMAs registered prior to January 1, 2017 will be collected at their renewal date after January 1, 2017.

4. When does a CM have to provide evidence of continuing education units/hours?

  • Proof of at least 4 hours per year of continuing educational units (for each year of the registration period) specific to the treatment of injured workers under the Tennessee Workers’ Compensation law must be provided with every registration renewal after 2017. Renewals in 2017 do not have to show evidence of the hours. Renewals in 2018 will have to show 4 hours. Renewals after 2018 will have to show the minimum of 4 hours per year. Failure to provide proof of this requirement will result in the suspension of a CM’s ability to work as a CM in Tennessee workers’ compensation cases.
  • The Bureau advises the course sponsor that they may add an addendum for the course conference that specifies the course is specific to Tennessee workers’ compensation. This includes all CCM approved hours.

5. Do the new rules change requirements related to certifications/licenses that have been provided to the Bureau in the past?

The need to keep certifications (CCM, etc.) and/or licenses (RN, etc.) up-to-date with the Bureau will not change. This means that as soon as a renewed certification or state license is obtained, the Bureau must be sent a copy. This is the only way to remain actively registered with the Bureau. Allowing a license or certification to lapse or not notifying the Bureau of renewals will automatically result in the suspension of the person’s registration, and, therefore, the person will not be allowed to provide case management services to workers’ compensation cases in the Tennessee. Only CMs and CMAs with an active status will be able to access the workers’ compensation portal and complete the required notification and closure forms.

6. When did the new requirements for face-to-face meetings and time frames become effective?

January 1, 2017.

7. When did the new complaint provisions, penalties, disciplinary and appeal procedures go into effect?

January 1, 2017. A complaint received prior to that date will be judged by the previous rules. A complaint received after January 1, 2017 for behavior or activity that occurred before that date will likewise be judged by the previous rules.

This Page Last Updated: May 6, 2024 at 3:10 PM